top of page

Who We Are

Sustainable Labs Canada is a volunteer organization of Canadians interested in ensuring that we have sustainable labs in our communities. Our group includes members from the public and private sectors with representation from: academic, hospital and national labs; facility representatives; sustainability experts; design teams; and product specialists. We are interested in collaborating, sharing knowledge and expertise on everything from new technologies to planning principles, and operational solutions that will make our laboratories some of the most sustainable environments possible. We are tackling topics such as: air management; design principles; use of hazardous materials; funding challenges; environmental impact; and the use of green technologies just to cover a few of the topics of discussion.

Of course we can only do this with the support of members and sponsors. To join one of our working Committees, please reach out to us at


A world where laboratories stand at the forefront of climate rehabilitation, carbon reduction, and responsible energy usage, emphasizing research efficiency to create a more sustainable world.


Establish Canada as a world leader in advocacy for laboratory sustainability, environmental and social responsibility, and safety through the exchange of knowledge and expertise between collaborators involved from planning through design and operations.


To facilitate resource-effectiveness and environmental responsibility in designing, engineering, constructing and operating laboratories and similar advanced high-technology facilities.


To support professional development, knowledge exchange and interactive discussion on issues affecting the sustainability of laboratories in Canada by organizing workshops, seminars, and webinars.

To create worldwide partnerships that will promote the development of technologically advanced, energy-efficient, environmentally responsive and sustainable high-performance facilities.

Founding Executive

Mike Dymarski.jfif
Kevin Belusa


Founding Vice President (2013-2019)

President (2019 - 2021)

Mike Dymarski


Founding Treasurer (2013 - 2022)

James Dykes 3_edited_edited_edited.jpg
James Dykes

Founding President (2013 - 2016)

Past President (2016 - 2018)

Founding Board

Jim Delaney_edited_edited.jpg
Jim Delaney

Director (2013-2019)

Kevin Humeniuk


Director (2013 - Current)

Avatar 98
Tim Lee


Director (2013 - 2014)

Avatar 98
Ian McDermott

Director (2013-2016)

President (2016-2018)

Past President (2018 - 2019)

Rene Soetens


Director (2013 - 2016)

bottom of page